Rampage sled hockey team to host tournament in Austin this weekend

The San Antonio Rampage Sled Hockey Team will host their second annual Midwest Sled  Hockey League (MWSHL) tournament this weekend at Chaparral Ice Center with games on Friday, Saturday and Sunday.

The tournament features all six MWSHL teams, including: San Antonio Rampage, RIC Blackhawks, DASA St. Louis Blues, Minnesota Northern, Colorado Avalanche and the Phoenix Coyotes. The Rampage Sled Hockey Team was formed in 2006 and is affiliated with the San Antonio Rampage of the American Hockey League (AHL).

The first game of the tournament will feature a matchup between the Rampage and the Blues at 5:45 p.m. on Friday. The tournament will wrap up on Sunday with two morning games featuring the Rampage and the Coyotes at 8:30 a.m. and the Blackhawks and Avalanche at 10 a.m.

Admission is FREE for all sled hockey tournament events over the course of the weekend.
Below is the tournament schedule. Teams listed first are considered the home team.

San Antonio Rampage Sled Hockey Team Tournament Schedule
Friday, November 19
Time Teams
5:45 p.m. DASA St. Louis Blues vs. San Antonio Rampage
7:15 p.m. RIC Blackhawks vs. Phoenix Coyotes

8:45 p.m.

Minnesota Northern vs. Colorado Avalanche
Saturday, November 20
Time Teams

8:00 a.m.

Colorado Avalanche vs. DASA St. Louis Blues
12:30 p.m. Phoenix Coyotes vs. Minnesota Northern
2:00 p.m. San Antonio Rampage vs. RIC Blackhawks
6:30 p.m. Phoenix Coyotes vs. DASA St. Louis Blues
8:00 p.m. Colorado Avalanche vs. San Antonio Rampage

9:30 p.m.

RIC Blackhawks vs. Minnesota Northern
Sunday, November 21
Time Teams

8:30 a.m.

San Antonio Rampage vs. Phoenix Coyotes

10:00 a.m.

RIC Blackhawks vs. Colorado Avalanche

The San Antonio Rampage Sled Hockey Team held its first practice on January 19, 2007. Operation Comfort presented the team with sleds donated from their organization and the San Antonio Rampage (AHL) outfitted the sled hockey team with equipment and jerseys. The Rampage (AHL) continues to host various fundraising events, including their annual Military Appreciation Night, to raise money to support the Rampage Sled Hockey Team.

The Rampage are the only sled hockey team in the United States that consists of all wounded military service members. The team is run by Operation Comfort, a non-profit organization that works with wounded service members coming from Iraq and Afghanistan who are recovering at Brooke Army Medical Center in San Antonio, Texas. The team is led by Lonnie Hannah, a two-time Paralympian who was named USA Hockey’s Disabled Athlete of the Year in 2009. This year’s team features two USA National Sled Hockey Team members, Rico Roman and Jen Yung Lee.


Search Archive »

Browse by Year »


Browse by Month »

July 2016
June 2016
May 2016
April 2016
March 2016
February 2016
January 2016
December 2015
November 2015
October 2015
September 2015
August 2015
July 2015
June 2015
May 2015
April 2015
March 2015
February 2015
January 2015
December 2014
November 2014
October 2014
September 2014
August 2014
July 2014
June 2014
May 2014
April 2014
March 2014
February 2014
January 2014
December 2013
November 2013
October 2013
September 2013
August 2013
July 2013
June 2013
May 2013
April 2013
March 2013
February 2013
January 2013
December 2012
November 2012
October 2012
September 2012
August 2012
July 2012
June 2012
May 2012
April 2012
March 2012
February 2012
January 2012
December 2011
November 2011
October 2011
September 2011
August 2011
July 2011
June 2011
May 2011
April 2011
March 2011
February 2011
January 2011
December 2010
November 2010
October 2010
September 2010
August 2010
July 2010
June 2010
May 2010
April 2010
March 2010
February 2010
January 2010
December 2009
November 2009
@@block(4000, 0, content)@@