San Antonio Rampage
Season Presented By: Presented By Presented By


SAN ANTONIO (March 31, 2016) – The San Antonio Rampage are proud to announce that Ben Street has been named the team’s winner of the IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year award for his outstanding contributions to the San Antonio community during the 2015-16 season.

The Rampage captain exemplified everything it is to truly care about the community with his dedication to the Rampage’s Face Off Against Kids Cancer program. Street was paired with a young boy named Lucas Vinton, who is undergoing treatment for Leukemia, and went above and beyond what is asked of the team throughout the season.

After he was recalled by the Avalanche, Street suffered an injury that would keep him off the ice for most of the season. He returned to San Antonio, and despite being on Colorado’s roster and not obligated to participate in any Rampage community initiatives, Street proactively reached out to find out when and where events were taking place and how he could contribute.

He asked if Lucas made a list for Santa so that he could buy Christmas gifts for his buddy, bringing a bag full of wrapped presents for Lucas to the team’s bowling event in December. Street attended every single Face Off Against Kids Cancer event this season, spending every moment he could with Lucas, and being a buddy to other kids and their families. His presence and genuine care for Lucas brought immeasurable joy to the Vinton family and everyone involved in the Face Off Against Kids Cancer program.

Street is now one of 30 finalists for the AHL’s 2015-16 Yanick Dupre Memorial Award, honoring the overall IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year. The league award is named after the former Hershey Bears forward and AHL All-Star who died in 1997 following a 16-month battle with leukemia. The winner of the Yanick Dupre Memorial Award will be announced by the American Hockey League at a later date. Rampage goalie Josh Tordjman won the award in 2010.