Joey Crabb Named Rampage's 2013-14 IOA/Specialty AHL Man of the Year

By: San Antonio Rampage Media Relations
SAN ANTONIO (April 2, 2014) – The San Antonio Rampage are proud to announce that Joey Crabb has been named the team’s winner of the IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year award for his outstanding contributions to the San Antonio community during the 2013-14 season. 
Crabb continues to have a lasting impact on everyone he comes into contact with in the San Antonio community. The biggest supporter of the Rampage’s community outreach events, Crabb consistently goes above and beyond what’s asked of him to make a difference in the lives of others. Whether it’s answering questions from young Rampage fans during the team’s social media night, reading to second graders as part of the team’s Stick with Reading program or volunteering to deliver stuffed animals collected during the Rampage Teddy Bear Toss to Christus Santa Rosa Children’s Hospital, Crabb never hesitates to be the first one to get off the ice and get in the community.
Crabb’s impact in the community is most evident through the team’s Face Off Against Kids Cancer Program, which pairs players with child cancer patients at the Children’s Hospital of San Antonio. Players bond with their buddies at a series of events throughout the season, but Crabb once again took his efforts to a new level. On days his buddy, Alexia, was too ill to leave the hospital for events, he would go to the hospital on his own time to visit her. Crabb and former Rampage teammate Denny Urban also went to a local Build-a-Bear Workshop and made a teddy bear for Alexia, bringing it to the hospital for her on one of their many visits. Crabb’s bond with Alexia goes beyond what has been asked of the players.
Whether it’s an organized community event or just bringing a smile to the face of a young fan, no one has done as much off the ice as Crabb has for the hockey community in San Antonio this season.
Crabb is now one of 30 finalists for the AHL’s 2013-14 Yanick Dupre Memorial Award, honoring the overall IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year. The league award is named after the former Hershey Bears forward and AHL All-Star who died in 1997 following a 16-month battle with leukemia. The winner of the Yanick Dupre Memorial Award will be announced by the American Hockey League later this month.

Smile Center
@@block(4000, 0, content)@@