FINAL
Fri. Oct 10
2 IOW
3 SAN
FINAL
Sat. Oct 11
2 OKC
3 SAN
FINAL
Fri. Oct 17
3 UTI
0 SAN
FINAL
Sat. Oct 18
5 SAN
4 OKC
Fri. Oct 24
6:00 PM
SAN
UTI
Sat. Oct 25
6:00 PM
SAN
HAM
Sun. Oct 26
2:00 PM
SAN
HAM
Wed. Oct 29
6:00 PM
SAN
ADK
Fri. Oct 31
7:30 PM
RFD
SAN
Sat. Nov 01
7:00 PM
RFD
SAN
Fri. Nov 07
7:30 PM
TOR
SAN
Sun. Nov 09
4:00 PM
OKC
SAN
Tue. Nov 11
10:35 AM
SAN
OKC
Fri. Nov 14
7:30 PM
CHA
SAN
Sat. Nov 15
7:00 PM
CHA
SAN
Tue. Nov 18
10:30 AM
OKC
SAN
Fri. Nov 21
7:30 PM
SAN
TEX
Sun. Nov 23
4:00 PM
TEX
SAN
Sat. Nov 29
7:00 PM
OKC
SAN
Sun. Nov 30
4:00 PM
IOW
SAN
Fri. Dec 05
7:30 PM
UTI
SAN
Sun. Dec 07
4:00 PM
CHI
SAN
Tue. Dec 09
7:00 PM
CHI
SAN
Thu. Dec 11
7:00 PM
SAN
IOW
Fri. Dec 12
7:00 PM
SAN
IOW
Fri. Dec 19
7:00 PM
SAN
CHA
Sun. Dec 21
1:00 PM
SAN
CHA
Fri. Dec 26
7:30 PM
TEX
SAN
Sat. Dec 27
7:00 PM
OKC
SAN
Sun. Dec 28
5:00 PM
SAN
TEX
Thu. Jan 01
3:00 PM
SAN
UTI
Fri. Jan 02
7:00 PM
SAN
TOR
Sat. Jan 03
3:00 PM
SAN
TOR
Tue. Jan 06
7:00 PM
SAN
ADK
Wed. Jan 07
7:05 PM
SAN
ROC
Sat. Jan 10
7:00 PM
IOW
SAN
Sun. Jan 11
4:00 PM
TOR
SAN
Sat. Jan 17
7:00 PM
ROC
SAN
Tue. Jan 20
7:00 PM
TEX
SAN
Thu. Jan 22
7:00 PM
SAN
LEM
Sat. Jan 24
7:00 PM
SAN
LEM
Thu. Jan 29
7:30 PM
SAN
TEX
Fri. Jan 30
7:30 PM
CHA
SAN
Tue. Feb 03
7:30 PM
SAN
TEX
Thu. Feb 05
7:00 PM
TEX
SAN
Sat. Feb 07
7:00 PM
OKC
SAN
Tue. Feb 10
7:30 PM
SAN
TEX
Fri. Feb 13
7:00 PM
SAN
GRA
Sat. Feb 14
7:00 PM
SAN
GRA
Sun. Feb 15
4:00 PM
SAN
RFD
Wed. Feb 18
10:30 AM
SAN
RFD
Sat. Feb 21
7:00 PM
SAN
CHI
Sun. Feb 22
3:00 PM
SAN
CHI
Fri. Feb 27
7:00 PM
SAN
OKC
Sat. Feb 28
7:00 PM
SAN
OKC
Wed. Mar 04
7:00 PM
SAN
CHA
Thu. Mar 05
7:00 PM
SAN
CHA
Wed. Mar 11
7:00 PM
MIL
SAN
Fri. Mar 13
7:30 PM
LEM
SAN
Sat. Mar 14
7:00 PM
LEM
SAN
Tue. Mar 17
7:00 PM
CHA
SAN
Fri. Mar 20
7:00 PM
SAN
OKC
Sat. Mar 21
7:00 PM
HAM
SAN
Sun. Mar 22
4:00 PM
HAM
SAN
Wed. Mar 25
7:00 PM
SAN
MIL
Fri. Mar 27
7:00 PM
SAN
IOW
Sat. Mar 28
12:30 PM
SAN
IOW
Sat. Apr 04
7:00 PM
ADK
SAN
Tue. Apr 07
7:00 PM
SAN
OKC
Fri. Apr 10
7:30 PM
GRA
SAN
Tue. Apr 14
7:00 PM
TEX
SAN
Fri. Apr 17
7:30 PM
TEX
SAN
Sat. Apr 18
7:00 PM
SAN
TEX

Rampage Fall in 11 Round Shootout

By: San Antonio Rampage Media Relations
11/24/2012 11:36 PM -

SAN ANTONIO (November 24, 2012) – More than 1,000 bears flew onto the ice when Rampage forward James Wright tallied a goal in the second period during the eighth annual Teddy Bear Toss night, benefiting Toys for Tots and the Children’s Hospital of San Antonio. But, in the end, San Antonio (4-9-0-3) fell to Abbotsford, 3-2, after an 11-round shootout on Saturday night at AT&T Center in front of 5,682 fans.

Wright recorded a goal and an assist on the night and Casey Wellman followed suit with a two point effort on a pair of helpers. Rampage netminder Jacob Markstrom made 30 saves in the defeat, including nine saves in the shootout.

Abbotsford (12-2-1-2) struck first at 5:14 of the first period while on the power play. Paul Byron found the puck at the bottom of the right circle after it had pinballed through the slot. Byron corralled the puck and fired a shot past Markstrom before the Rampage netminder could slide to his left.

The Rampage struggled to get going offensively in the opening frame, as they were outshot 9-3. By not allowing a goal in the first period, Abbotsford goaltender Barry Brust broke the AHL all-time shutout streak record, which stood at 249:51 and was set by Johnny Bower during the 1957 season.

Wright ended Brust’s shutout streak at 268:17 when he tallied a power-play goal at 16:36 of the second period. Jason DeSantis and Wellman collected assists on the power-play tally. Wright now has two goals in his last three games. 

San Antonio claimed the lead just 1:35 later when rookie forward Quinton Howden charged down the left wing and made a nifty move past Brust at 18:11 of the second period. Wright and Wellman collected assists on the go-ahead goal to give the Rampage a 2-1 lead heading into the third period.

The Rampage clung to their one-goal lead for the majority of the final frame, much to the thanks of Markstrom, who came up big down the stretch for San Antonio. However, after Markstrom made a flurry of saves down low, Abbotsford forward Brett Olson tied the game with 14 seconds remaining in regulation.

San Antonio outshot Abbotsford 4-1 in overtime and tilted the ice during the extra session, but was unable to find the game winner.

Jon Rheault and Wright tallied goals for San Antonio during the shootout, but Abbotsford came out victorious in the 11-round shootout duel, 3-2.

On the night, San Antonio went 1-for-3 on the power play, while Abbotsford went 1-for-2 with the man advantage. Abbotsford also had the edge in shots, 33-28. The Rampage are winless in their last seven games (0-5-0-2), with their last four losses coming by one goal.

The Rampage will close out the three-in-three weekend series on Sunday against the Texas Stars at 3:30 p.m. The game will also mark an Express-News Sunday Funday at the AT&T Center. Individual, and season, tickets start at $10 and can be purchased at the AT&T Center Southeast Box Office, by calling a Rampage representative at 210-444-5554 or online at sarampage.com.

 



Budget